Click here if you are having trouble viewing this message.
July 26, 2018

2018 Diversity Award Nominations Now Open

GIA established the Diversity Award in 2003 to recognize national, regional, and local individuals, programs, and organizations that embrace diversity as a fundamental element in all levels of their work in aging. 

Award Nomination Criteria

Nonprofit organizations (receiving funding from a foundation or whose funding sources include foundation(s)), individual grantmakers, or foundations working effectively with a diverse aging population are eligible for consideration.

GIA believes that diversity encompasses, but is not limited to, age, gender, race, national origin, religious beliefs, physical abilities and characteristics, sexual orientation, economic circumstances and lifestyle, or gender expression.

Self-nominations are welcome!


Please download and complete the nomination form, then save it and email it, as an attachment, to Maria Gonzales Jackson at indicating “2018 GIA Diversity Award” in the subject line. 

Feel free to share these nominating instructions and form with interested colleagues or grantees.

Submissions are due electronically by September 6, 2018.



RECEIVE GIA’s Diversity Award at the Grantmakers In Aging 2018 Annual Conference, to be held October 17-19 in Memphis. 

OFFER brief acceptance remarks at the event during one of the general sessions.

PARTICIPATE in the full conference. All expenses – full registration, travel, and lodging – will be paid for a representative of the selected nonprofit or foundation to attend the conference.


GIA Staff and members of the Diversity Committee will review and select the winner. The winner will be notified in mid-September.

Past Winners

2017  Tufts Health Plan Foundation

2016  St. Barnabas Senior Services

​​​​​​​2015  Center for Medicare Advocacy

​​​​​​​2014  Rose Community Foundation

​​​​​​​2013  The Atlantic Philanthropies

​​​​​​​2012  Pueblo of Zuni and Jewish Family Service of New Mexico

​​​​​​​2011  Services and Advocacy for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Elders (SAGE)

2010  The Retirement Research Foundation

​​​​​​​2009  Coalition of Limited English Speaking Elderly (CLESE)

2008  George W. Davis, PhD, Executive Director, Bayview Hunters Point Multipurpose Senior Services, Inc.

2007  Jennie Chin Hansen, RN, MSN, FAAN, AARP President and UCSF Center for the Health Professions Senior Fellow
2006  Meyling Eliash-Daneshfar, Manager of Latino Services, Alzheimer’s Association, Los Angeles and a former ASA NVL Partner
2005  Connie Bremner, Executive Director of the Eagle Shield Senior Center, Blackfeet Nation Reservation
2004  Funders for Lesbian and Gay Issues, Affinity Group
2003  American Society on Aging (ASA) New Ventures in Leadership (NVL) Partnership Program


Grantmakers In Aging
2001 Jefferson Davis Highway, Suite 504
Arlington, VA 22202
Phone 703.413.0413
Click here if you would like to unsubscribe from all newsletters in the future.
Or click here to manage your newsletter subscription preferences.